Yes, I swiped the title.  I know you probably already know this blog, but if you don’t, you need to visit it soon and bookmark it. 

I’ve been reading Enjoying the Small Things for a little over a year, and while I’ve got a list of about 20 fave blogs I love, Kelle Hampton’s grab-the-world-by-the-horns-and-ride attitude has completely catapulted ETST to the top of my list. 

I’m not normally one to gush, but I promise you Kelle’s writing, photography and music selections will make you laugh, cry (a lot) and inspire you to be the best you can be, especially if you’re a parent.

I feel particularly fortunate to have found this blog around the same time I became a Mama. After dealing with infertility and waiting to adopt for what seemed like an eternity, I’m certain I’d lost some of my passion for life.   I started the journey toward parenthood with fire in my belly – I knew I was going to be a great mother – and had big plans.

But the waiting, loss and heartbreak can dull even the most optimistic person’s world.  I knew this almost immediately after our daughter arrived.  There was a different light in the sky; the colours around me became vibrant again; things even tasted and smelled better.  I started living, again.

And as if on cue, ETST came into my life and reminded me I needed to ramp things up a bit – to take photos wherever I go (although I think I had that one covered), to add more colour to our home and our lives and to have FUN no matter what.

Kelle – if you read this, I’m eternally grateful. 

While I’m on the topic of enjoying the small things…I think I may have witnessed the cutest thing I’ve ever seen in my life.  Yesterday, we went to an early Easter playdate. 

Six baby girls in Easter dresses had an egg hunt outside.  It was simply adorable – and freezing cold.

My baby was shy about picking up the eggs and genuinely surprised as she opened them to discover Little People inside.

She was also thoughtful, allowing a friend to reach for an egg that was right in front of them both.  Mommy was proud.

Throughout the year I have tried to really absorb what’s happened to us.   While lots of photos help me remember after the fact, I do try to live in the present. 

Step back. Observe. Appreciate the scene in front of me.  

Enjoying the small things is a skill, I’ve come to realize; one that needs sharpening if you’re to do it well.  If you aren’t one of those people who sucks the marrow out of each moment, worry not!  You can learn to do this too.  Or, if you’re like me and suddenly realize your zest for life disappeared while you suffered, I’m happy to tell you it can return really quickly.  All you have to do is start.

