Our little chickadee is 12 weeks old, and has been with us for two months!  She continues to amaze and amuse us every day and just when we think our hearts can’t possibly contain a speck more love for her, she’ll wrinkle her nose and smile her impish smile and our hearts grow by what feels like another mile.  

I’ve been thinking of the highs and lows so far.  Thankfully, there are few lows -0nly two that really stand out:

Needle day: This photo was taken the day of her two-month needles and speaks volumes about how this little girl has touched our lives, but it was by far the most difficult day for both of us. 

She barely flinched at the needles themselves – one in each leg.  But she woke up from her nap that afternoon screaming – her injection sites were red and swollen.  I hadn’t intended to use medication, but in the end it wasn’t worth watching her suffer so I reluctantly turned to the baby tylenol, and eventually she fell asleep.  I found her crying really scary that day – she clearly hurt, and it hurt me so much to not be able to take the pain away for her.     

Nail Clipper Day: I’m still really upset with myself for letting it happen…I truly thought if I was careful enough I would never injure her little fingers.  But I wasn’t careful enough, that’s the thing. I should have stopped and checked before squeezing, but I was impatient, and anxious to have her looking well-groomed for a shower being held by my mother. 

It was more than just a little nick, I basically took off the tip of her finger.  I cried harder than she did, and boy, did she CRY.  I still don’t think I’ve recovered, but the finger has, completely.

And the highs, well…where does one begin?

Recognition smiles:  I think she was 8 or 9 weeks old…and it was the first morning I arrived cribside and witnessed her glimmer of recognition and the widest, most grateful smile I’ve ever seen.  There is no feeling like it, especially when you’ve adopted.  It is the moment you know, without a doubt, your baby knows you are her mama, and something gels in your heart and tells you it’s all going to be okay.

Reaching for Mama:  Another bonding moment…the day she was having her bottle and reached her velvety-soft hand up to my face and touched my cheek.  Is there anything else in this life that can top that? I think not.

Squealing!  Without pulling out too many violins and getting weepy….I will simply say hearing her high-pitched squeals for the first time made me want to run out into the street and do cartwheels.  When you wait and long for that sound as long as we have, it is music to the ears, and that’s putting it mildly.  When she squeals, I squeal louder. 

Dressing a girl:  I admit the day we got the call and were told it was a girl, my heart skipped a beat.  I LOVE having a baby girl, but I was a teenage girl, and therefore I’m a little freaked out about what’s to come.  However, I have to say the joy that comes with outfitting this little creature is like a throwback to my own childhood.  It’s like playing dolls…except this doll is way cuter. No offense to anyone who has a boy (and I’d probably love dressing a boy just as much, who am I kidding?) but girl clothes are just so freakin’ adorable.

Not working: I was what you might call a “career woman”…and hated every second of it.  I was going through the motions and while I was okay at my job and enjoyed some aspects of my work, my heart hasn’t been in it for years.  Since dealing with IF, I couldn’t wait to be a mom, and a mom only.  Not working ROCKS.  This is going to be the best year of my entire life, without question.

The little one stirs…must go peek over the crib and meet her little smile…

