Hi Baby,

The snow has melted and the temps are finally beginning to rise.  Little crocus shoots of yellow and purple are poking through the dirt, and the robins have returned.

There is so much I love about Spring.  The smell of the damp ground when we go walking; the little buds on the bare trees; more daylight hours and the warm sun.

Next weekend is Easter.  As a child, your Grammy would allow us a very special crafting event this time of year.  We would carefully prick eggs on each end with a pin and blow out their insides.  Then we would paint the eggs bright pink, purple, blue and yellow. 

I can remember being in awe of the sweet little basket of eggs we would then display on the kitchen table.  I thought those eggs were the most delicate, beautiful creations.

Be it Easter eggs or my living room walls, there is something about this time of year that makes me want to paint things.  It feels like the season of new beginnings.

A few weeks ago, I was doubtful we’d ever see another chance at a new beginning.  It’s funny how things can change in a heartbeat.

A few days ago I had a routine procedure to get rid of some endometriosis.  When I awoke, I learned that the surgeon actually found more than she bargained for.

I had a uterine septum.  I’m dizzy with this new information.   How, after years of IF treatments and trying to have a baby, can we just be finding this out for the first time?

The doctor told us a septate uterus has been linked to miscarriage and difficuly conceiving.   While we’ll never know if this is why we lost our first baby, it certainly does mean a lot to think their may have been a good reason, as much as it also hurts to know this didn’t have to be the case.

She also says we need to try to have a baby within the next six months while conditions are at their best.

And so, suddenly, just like that, we’re faced with the possibility of a new reality: you may come to us the “old fashioned way” after all.  Wouldn’t that be something?

Love you already,

Mamma

